Sunrise on Dollymount, over Howth Head, Dublin
Sunrise on Dollymount, over Howth Head, Dublin

When I say in my about post that I live in Dublin, Europe’s most enjoyable city, I’m generally referring to the bar and restaurant scene in a city that’s big enough to have a broad scope but small enough to retain a community feel.

However, we’re currently enjoying a mini-heatwave, and it reminds me that Dublin is also a very beautiful place, both at the heart of the city and in it’s natural environs.  Just 3 miles from the city centre is Dollymount Beach, where I popped down this morning to take a few sunrise pics – that’s a 4.57am sunrise by the way!!

Dollymount by the way is on Bull Island, which is a relatively new part of the landscape which was the accidental result of the creation of a protective wall along the north of Dublin Port, by Captain William Bligh – yes, of the Bounty!

Poolbeg towers, no longer operational, but the sight everyone returning by air to Dublin looks out for to say "we're home".
Poolbeg towers, no longer operational, but the sight everyone returning by air to Dublin looks out for to say “we’re home”.

The sun peeps above Howth, beside Ireland's Eye